Skip to content

Cannes 2011 – Travel Day

May 14, 2011

Tuesday 10th May 2011

So, the day had finally come, it was time for the Cannes film festival 2011! My Mother, Clare Binns has been going to the festival for 20 or so years. I had wanted to go with her for several years, but I wasn’t really old enough to be able to contribute something. Now that I’m 19, and just finished my Foundation Course at Camberwell Art College I was lucky enough to be able to go out there to work as a runner. The responsibilities of a runner are to most importantly sort out, and get the tickets for the films! Keep the flat clean, stocked up with food, let people in the flat when they arrive, be in contact with the person in charge of the flat, take the rubbish and recycling out, get the daily’s, the bread and croissants in the morning, do the washing up and generally just be on call for anything that may come up.

The day before we were due to leave, I had to hand in all my final major project work for college. It was a relief to have it all done and to be able to focus on the 11 days of Cannes I had ahead of me. However, I had worked so hard on trying to get it all finished; I only managed to get 12 hours sleep throughout the last three days before Cannes. Not my ideal situation, but I was told it was good preparation!

I packed all evening, and at 7.30am mum and I left South London to begin our journey to France. We met Jo, Madeleine and Chloe at the train station.

So after a long, 12hour day of travelling, we arrived at the apartment to find it no longer had WiFi. We were provided with ‘dongles’ instead, but they did not work on the Mac laptops, due to a problem with the software. With 5 people in the apartment, each with a laptop, all needing to work – it was a disaster! We went out for a quick bite to eat and made plans for the next day, then it was time for some sleep!

Missed the connecting train, so picnic on the platform while we waited for the next one.

French birds, init.

Celebrating Madeleine’s Birthday on the train.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 10:34 pm

    Some lovely photos here Amy, you done good… and I’m envious of course!

Leave a Reply

