Skip to content

Cannes 2011 – Day One

May 15, 2011

Wednesday 12th May 2011

My first day in Cannes and the first official day of the festival. Up at 7.30am and breakfast by 8.30am. As we had no food in the apartment, we had breakfast at a nearby cafe. Then, I was taken for a quick strole around the area, so I could get to grips with where everything was. It seemed like a maze.

Later, we did food shopping and then went to pick up our Cannes badges and bags from the Palais. While we where there, the rest of the team took me to the ticket stand and explained the system to me. I barely understood what I had to do, and I was convinced I would make a mistake at some point. Chloe and I spent the rest of the day running around trying to sort out the internet problem. We went to an Orange shop, a computer help desk and then finaly a Mac shop. It all got sorted when we went to the Mac shop, hurrah!

In the evening Mum, Chloe, Jo and I all went to the 11.oopm screening of  Midnight in Paris directed by Woody Allen. It was in the Lumiere, the biggest screen in Cannes, with 2300 seats. It was my first time in there and it was truely amazing. The seating was so steep and the screen was HUGE!  They are very strict about dress code and people looking as smart. If you are not dressed correctly, they wont let you in. The film was O.K. with a few funny moments.

After the film I went straight to bed, because I knew I had to be up at 6.3oam to start my first proper dayof being a runner!

I thought this looked like a paw print….

The clearest sea water I have ever seen.

Quite an extreme comb over.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

