Skip to content

Cannes 2011 – Day Ten

May 21, 2011

Friday 20th May

As my runner days were over in Cannes, today was my day off and I was able to have a lie in(ish) and get up at just before 7am. For the first time I was able to watch the morning screenings, which were: ‘This Must Be Place’ directed by Paolo Sorrentino and ‘Drive’ directed by Nicolas Winding Refn. I enjoyed the Sorrentino and it was nice to be watching a film at 8.30 in the morning. When it finished I met Mum and we pushed and shoved our way through the scrum, (otherwise known as the queue) for ‘Drive’. Both Mum and I absolutely LOVED the film and would put it up there in our top five of the festival. The thrilling, adrenaline pumping film, with a great soundtrack was a winner! Its release date is the 23rd of September, which is my birthday. I think I know what I will be doing on the day….

Having done a bit of shopping for the family back home, Mum and I met up the rest of the Picturehouse team and we all had a lovely ‘end of Cannes dinner’. Some of us decided in the spur of the moment to go and see the 10.30pm screening of ‘Oslo, August 31st’ directed by Joachim Trier. It was nice to be able to squeeze in one more film before it was time to go. I really enjoyed the film and it left me in a pensive frame of mind, which is sometimes really nice. And for me, it was a good way to end Cannes.

The queue for ‘Drive’

Inside the Lumiere….2300 seats

One Comment leave one →
  1. Fred permalink
    May 30, 2011 1:07 pm

    Missing Cannes or back to your normal life with friends and family?

Leave a Reply

