Skip to content

My Year in Nail Paint.

December 6, 2011

After years, and years, and years (you get the idea) of biting my nails, November last year I quit my bad habit.

I’ve always thought that short, bitten nails do not look good painted. So as a girl who likes to take care of herself, grooming and all sorts, I always used to hate that I could never paint my nails. Plus, I’d had my eye on Barry M Nail Paints for a long time, and wanted to be able to use them! I went through years of fake, acrylic nails which provided temporary satisfaction, but seeing the damage they did to my nails (and my bank balance) was never nice.

I’d tried to quit many times before, using all sorts of methods, but nothing ever seemed to work. I finally managed to give up by using a ‘no pressure’ approach that I had conjured up in my head. I was not trying to stop biting my nails forever; I was simply trying not to bite them, one finger at a time, one day at a time. And if I did happen to bite one, then it was not a problem, no biggie. Gradually some would get longer; I would be pleased with the result and want the rest to look the same. Soon, they were all just about long enough to paint and once that was possible, well, I just never wanted to go back!

So anyway, to conclude: December last year, my nails were long enough to paint, (conveniently) my dear mother had bought me some nail varnishes for Christmas and the nail painting begun. Throughout the course of the year, (Nov 2010 – Nov 2011) I have taken photographs of some of the patterns I have come up with. To result with a collection of images like the ones below, was not done intentionally. At the beginning I was just merely proud of my nails and wanted to remember the way I had painted them. A few months down the line it became more of a hobby, and a collection.

Now that it has been over a year since I kicked my bad habit, I feel it is time to look back and remember some of the ways I’ve painted my nails! Bring on 2012!

Please Note: all of these image were taken on my phone (not a very good camera) and were all painted by me, using MOSTLY Barry M nail varnish! Oh and this post is dedicated to Tramell Nicole, my number 1 fan.

29/12/2010
This was the first image I took, using the nail Varnish I had been bought for Christmas.
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Neon Green, Fuchsia, Black Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

11/01/2011
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Neon Green, Racing Green, Black Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

04/02/2011
I’d always wanted to have a French Manicure, so I did one myself!
Nail Varnish Used: Chanel, Barry M Matt White.

06/02/2011
Once I’d got the idea of French Manicure in my head, I thought, why not do the same thing but with a bit of colour!?
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Neon Green, Fuchsia.

27/02/2011
and again….
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Berry, Spring Green.

15/04/2011
On the tube, so a slighly blurry image.
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Block Orange, Matt White, Black Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

20/04/2011
One of my favs.
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Block Orange, Pure Turquoise.

23/04/2011
Just descovered Instnat Nail Effects in PINK!
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Pure Turquoise, Spring Green, Pink Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

23/05/2011
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Yellow, Spring Green, Black Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

28/05/2011
As I was working at an outdoor pool as a lifeguard, I painted my nails to match my uniform.
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Bright Red, Yellow.

22/07/2011
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Black, Pink Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

24/07/2011
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Pure Turquoise, Black.

28/07/2011
A bit messy, but you get the idea.
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Yellow, Block Orange.

14/08/2011
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Pure Turquoise, Matt White, Black Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

16/08/2011
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Neon Pink, Matt White, Black Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

29/08/2011
Nottinghill Carnival Nails.
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Neon Pink, Pure Turquoise, Yellow, Spring Green, Block Orange.

05/09/2011
Another one of my favs.
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Neon Pink, Black, Gold, Black Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

04/10/2011
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Racing Green, Gold.

13/10/2011
Another one of my favs.
Nail Varnish Used: No.7 Milan, Barry M Gold, Barry M Black.

27/10/2011
My last fav!
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Pure Turquoise, Block Orange, Black Instant Nail Effects – Crackle.

05/12/2011 (Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures released.)
To conclude: Christma Nails 2011!
Barry M Nail Varnish Used: Emerald Green, Once Upon A Time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Clare permalink
    December 6, 2011 10:03 pm

    W
    Beautiful nails almost as beautiful as the rest of you

    And please do my nails soon!

Leave a Reply

