Skip to content

The mushroom(s) that changed my life.

May 7, 2012

Last week I was cooking some lunch, a simple sauce to go with some rice. Having already used three mushrooms, the OCD within me wouldn’t let me continue unless I added a fourth (everything has to be in even numbers).

I plunged my hand into the bag and scrambled around in search of a fairly small sized mushroom. In a blur of haste, I found one. I got hold of it, dragged it out and suddenly discovered that it was not one, but TWO mushrooms.

How? Siamese twins, that’s how. Two mushrooms, attached together. I was in complete fascination with the Siamese mushroom twins that I had stumbled across.

The first thing on my mind was to photograph them. I couldn’t bring myself to chop them up, eat them for lunch and destroy such a wonderful creation. Then, I thought about naming them. The one of the left ‘Life’ and the one on the right ‘Changing’, but I didn’t. I couldn’t let myself get too attached. ‘Siamese mushroom twins’ is what I’ll remember them as.

So how did they change my life? They restored all my faith in humanity. Just when I was starting to give up on the universe, and wonder if good things ever do just ‘happen’, or whether we have to spend our whole lives seeking happiness – I found the mushrooms. They showed me that wonderful things do happen naturally. That beauty is all around us, it just depends on the eyes you choose to look through. To some, the mushrooms might be classed us abnormal, wrong, they may have not even been noticed at all. But that just made them even more amazing. To me, this tiny disaster highlighted the wonder that is nature and all its purities.

Who knew that fungi could spark so many thoughts and emotions!?

YES, I am slightly mad. And YES, I did get all that from some mushrooms. But is that such a bad thing? Is it wrong to find such pleasure from the simple, natural things in life? Or must we find it all in the material world?

Anyway, that’s the story of the mushroom(s) that changed my life, see below for a few pictures. Now the question is, how am I ever going to eat a mushroom again?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. romy permalink
    May 7, 2012 1:01 am

    U r the best

  2. Clare permalink
    May 7, 2012 6:45 am

    perfect-love it, great blog Amy! and it’s chicken livers and mushrooms tonight

  3. Frank permalink
    May 7, 2012 9:41 am

    You crazy bean.

  4. E.XOX permalink
    May 7, 2012 2:15 pm

    fantastic

Leave a Reply

