Skip to content

My very own ‘Drive’ jacket

May 14, 2012

Anyone that knows me knows that I am a big fan of the film ‘Drive’. And no, not just because of the gorgeous lead actor! All aspects of the film, direction, production design, cinematography, acting and, of course, the incredible soundtrack, gel together to create something very special. I first saw the film at the Cannes Film Festival, May 2011, in the largest screen which seats 2300 people. It was definitely an experience I will never forget, love at first sight!

Now that I’ve touched the surface of my deep obsession with the film, I’ll stop myself there as I don’t mean to preach!

Recently, I felt the urge to clean the dust off my sewing machine and play around with some scrap materials wedged under my desk. Reigniting my interest for sewing I suddenly had all sorts of ideas, one of them was to create something that resembled the scorpion jacket from the film!

Once I had the final idea it was all systems go. I purchased a standard denim jacket from Beyond Retro and all the necessary materials from Wimbledon Sewing Machine Shop (located at Tooting Bec). I hadn’t made anything like it before, so I taught myself and worked it out as I went along.

I am due to set off for the Cannes Film Festival this week so I thought it only right that it was finished in time for me to take and wear around the amazing festival, the very place that I first saw the film.

Below are a few images which illustrate the steps I took. I am pleased with the end result although it has many imperfections. Perfection is something I always strive for, knowing full well that it is extremely hard to achieve. It may not even exist, but I keep trying!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Clare permalink
    May 14, 2012 6:42 am

    I love this jacket, so cool -and the person that made it is amazing

  2. Ragstar permalink
    May 14, 2012 4:01 pm

    The coolest fucking thing I’ve seen in ages!

  3. May 15, 2012 1:22 am

    It looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

