Skip to content

Cannes Profiles: Meet Ellie Evans

May 22, 2013

IMG_8051
Photograph by Amy Binns ©

I’m here in Cannes for the 66th Film Festival as a runner for Picturehouse Cinemas. During my time I’ll be meeting up with several industry heads to get an insight into the Film business and to hear what film they’re looking forward to most at the festival.

I met up with Ellie Evans, Producer for elevenfiftyfive.

Amy Binns: How would you describe what you do?

Ellie Evans: My role at the company is to produce the events and campaigns. I essentially put together all of the film projects we work on. As a company,  what we do at elevenfiftyfive is support the film community by connecting interesting stand out things in film, with brands. So working with brands to get funding or awareness for exciting and interesting things that are happening in film.

AB: How did you get into the industry?

EE: I went to Bristol university and studied French, Spanish and European Studies. After graduating, the first job I had was interning for Dazed and Confused. I was a runner in the PR and marketing department. From then on I realised what I  really liked doing was producing events. That was the bit that got me excited. Having worked that out, I went and worked for a marketing agency called BD putting on events and doing  experiential marketing  campaigns for big brands. I worked there for four years and worked my way up from entry level, which gave me loads of experience. When I’d started working there, a team was set up, called the ‘experiential team’. It was kind of like event marketing. We were creating experiences for brands rather than just a print advertisement, which was a more effective way of making the brand stand out. When I joined the team there were 3 of us, when I left there were about 22. We grew hugely so it was a great place for me to learn and get stuck in. When I left BD I went to War Child which was producing events for a charity. It was very much working with the music industry, putting on a lot of big gigs to fund raise.  The event we’ve got coming up at elevenfiftyfive is the world premiere of the The Stone Roses documentary, MADE OF STONE. Which is a great event for me to work on, as it is fusing everything that I love doing. Music, event producing and film. So it’s my perfect project! I stayed at War Child for a couple of years and had such an amazing time, then this opportunity came up at elevenfiftyfive. I’d known David, director of the company for a long time. I knew he was setting up this company and eventually the right time came for me to get involved. So in actual fact, before this I hadn’t really worked in film at all, I’m really new to it. But the background I’d had made it possible for me to take it on. They were all transferable skills. But in terms of the Film industry, I’m completely fresh. Having to learn it all from scratch has been a big challenge, and I’m still massively learning. But that’s what makes it so exciting.

AB: What advice would you give to someone trying to get their foot in the door?

EE: Get yourself out there as much as you can. Not saying no, say yes to every opportunity! And don’t be scared to give things a try. You might take something on and hate it, that’s fine because it is still learning. Sometimes you have to do a few of jobs you really don’t like until you find the right one. It’s getting yourself into the habit of trying new things. You can’t be too hard on yourself if something doesn’t work out. Everything that you do will help you towards that journey.

AB: Which film are you looking forward to seeing most at the Festival and why?

EE: The two I was really looking forward were BEHIND THE CANDELABRA, but I saw it before I came out and thought it was wonderful, and INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS, because of all of the hype it’s created and because I love the Coen brothers. I also adore folk music AND it’s set in New York City, it seems right up my street. Oh! I totally forgot about ONLY GOD FORGIVES. In fact, I’m going to change my mind and go for that!

AB: What film do you predict to be the talk of Cannes this year?

EE: It’s got to be ONLY GOD FORGIVES. It’ll be the most edgy, rebellious stand out one for sure!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul Binns permalink
    May 22, 2013 12:07 pm

    Fab. Keep ’em coming. x

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Clare Binns permalink
    May 22, 2013 12:17 pm

    Well stuff I never knew!

Leave a Reply

